Wednesday 23 November 2022

The Neo-Tasman Sector Fleet

The Neo-Tasman sector fleet is structured as a fairly typical GCPS naval formation for one of the frontier sectors. It consists of 26 major combatants organized into six divisions, plus their associated support vessels. It operates two major fleet bases, in the Agni-273 and Tolihn star-systems. The flagship of the fleet is the dreadnought GNS Goliath.

Space Supremacy Division G - Goliath Battlegroup

The most powerful unit in the sector fleet is Space Supremacy Division G, more commonly referred to as the Goliath Battlegroup.The GNS Goliath is an Akira-class dreadnought which (in times of war or major fleet actions) is also required to report in as part of III Battleship Line. It is accompanied by the escort carrier GNS Prince of Wales (and its attached 205th Space Superiority Wing, "The Black Roses") to provide fighter cover, and two destroyers for reconnaissance and scouting assistance.

  • GNS Goliath (Akira-class Battleship)
  • GNS Prince of Wales (Enterprise-class Escort Carrier)
  • GNS Sao Marcos (San Juan-class Destroyer)
  • GNS Sinister (San Juan-class Destroyer)

Assault Transport Division H - Laertes Battlegroup

Division H, most commonly referred to as the Laertes Battlegroup provides transport and support for the troops of the Enforcer 75 Long Range Drop Group (75-LRDG). Accompanying the Laertes is the GNS Polonius, whose air wing (612th Composite Strike Wing, "The Terrahawks") can perform atmospheric air-superiority, close air support, or interdiction missions as required. Lastly the division is escorted by the heavy cruisers GNS Thunderchild and GNS Typhon. While two heavy cruisers would not be significant in a major fleet action, they are sufficient to defeat light in-system defenders (patrol cutters, corvettes, or similar) and can protect the battlegroup against light-to-medium sized enemy warships operating independently as raiders.

  • GNS Laertes (Khe Sanh-class Orbital Assault Transport)
  • GNS Polonius (Enterprise-class Escort Carrier)
  • GNS Thunderchild (Le Triomphant-class Heavy Cruiser)
  • GNS Typhon (Le Triomphant-class Heavy Cruiser)

Transport Division I

The mission of Transport Division I is to move personnel and equipment within the sector. While unlike Division H it is not set up to conduct contested landings, Division I can transport a far larger number of troops - up to two full brigades in one movement, as well as re-supplying them indefinitely provided space control in the region is maintained.

  • GNS Inchon (Casablanca-class Troop Transport)
  • GNS Casablanca (Casablanca-class Troop Transport)
  • GNS Cairns (Cape Town-class Frigate)
  • GNS Sylhet (Cape Town-class Frigate)

Medium Division J and Medium Division K

The Medium Divisions J and K are the mainstays of the sector fleet. These divisions seldom operate together as a unit, and are mostly administrative formations. The ships of the medium divisions perform general patrol, "show-the-flag", and presence missions throughout the Neo-Tasman sector. If they encounter a threat force they can either engage (if the threat is one they can handle alone) or report back, at the commander's discretion.

  • GNS Troyes (Le Triomphant-class Heavy Cruiser)
  • GNS Don Victoria (San Juan-class Destroyer)
  • GNS Dubuque (Cape Town-class Frigate)
  • GNS Taunton (Cape Town-class Frigate)

  • GNS Tybalt (Le Triomphant-class Heavy Cruiser)
  • GNS Albion (San Juan-class Destroyer)
  • GNS Ames (Cape Town-class Frigate)
  • GNS Nelson (Cape Town-class Frigate)

Patrol and Rescue Division L

While the least glamorous of the fleet's units, in many ways Division L is the unit that does the most to save human lives. Often disparagingly referred to as a "coast guard" unit, division L (who unofficially nickname themselves "the Lifeguards") perform mainly law-enforcement, search-and-rescue, and distress call response missions. If a civilian vessel suffers an engine failure in deep space, it will most likely be a ship from The Lifeguards that will be there to help them. However the division does consist of armed combatants (two frigates and four corvettes) and a large part of their mission is counter-piracy operations, Should a civilian vessel come under attack, the Lifeguards are quite capable of defending them.

No comments:

Post a Comment